Thursday, August 13, 2009

Progress

I love how it took me only six years to change up the way I am beginning a new school year. I am starting my seventh year of teaching on Monday. I am thrilled to be starting my second year at the same (fabulous) school and in the same grade level. I feel powerful this year!

I decided that instead of beginning my preparation the week before school in ten-twelve hour overwhelming days, I started a bit earlier and have been working in smaller, more manageable chunks. In doing this, I feel healthier, both physically and mentally. I have spent a few hours at school over the past two weeks, but I have also maintained a balance of work and play. My goal is to avoid the pressures that stem from an overloaded and unhealthy back to school schedule. For now, I think it's working. I am really trying not to get sick as I normally do in the beginning of the year. I even scheduled a trip with some friends for this weekend to get away to Breckenridge before we get back to it on Monday! I think it will be the perfect way to come back...refreshed!

I know it's hard to believe that I could get more organized than I already am, but I have! Being that my classroom is in a mobile, I decided to maximize every square inch of space in the room. Everything that is in my room has a purpose. If it didn't serve a purpose last year, then I pitched it. Everything is placed for a specific reason. I hope that by arranging things in such a way, I will create a more purposeful and authentic space in which to honor the learning that will happen there.

I am VERY excited because I had the fortunate opportunity to attend a workshop at the beginning of the summer that focused on 21st Century Learning. It's focus, in short, was on preparing our students for careers of the 21st century...some of which haven't even been discovered yet! Right now, our education system is geared to prepare our children for only TEN career paths. I'm serious. TEN. Our curriculums and state testing obsessed ways are not cutting it for the kind of work that is coming. Through this workshop, which was funded by a grant, every participant who attended received a multimedia learning smart cart, with which to incorporate technology into the classroom. I am thrilled to get back to the use of a document camera (versus an overhead projector...LAME!), a new laptop, a new projector (which I did not have access to last year), and a new sound system. I feel like this is going to completely change the way I can teach this year. Although I had all of this equipment at my fingertips when I was teaching in Texas, the authentic and purposeful learning was missing. I am excited that the two pieces are coming together this year.

I will take some pictures of my new learning space tomorrow and post. I think it feels inviting, calm, open, and ready to be occupied by new little minds.

Here's to another year!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

You just haven't found the right one yet...

A little background...

I dated this guy named Jeff last October. I liked him, but it fizzled after about a month and I haven't spoken to him since. He's called/texted a couple of times, but I never responded. I got the following email from him tonight...

Erin,

First off don't worry I deleted your #. I know something must have happened to have you not want to return my call etc. From what I remember we got in a little spat the last time we talked & by the advice of my gf's at work they said if she's interested she'll call. I think I made a few attempts for drinks with my friends but nothing.

Anyway to close this one out I'd like to know so I don't make the same mistake in the future. During that time I had thought you were maybe seeing that guy in boulder, but you & I weren't exclusive so I didn't feel it was my place to say anything. I thought you were cool, funny, cute & had plenty of funny stories from your class. So I guess just know that.

But if you can at least let me know what I messed up along the way I'd greatly appreciate it. Don't worry I can delete your email after sending this - just had the same sort of scenario about a week ago & am curious if this is a habit or what.

Thanks again Erin,

Jeff


Timing is funny...here's how I answered...

Hey Jeff ~

First off, sorry I didn't respond to your IM the other day...I didn't recognize your email address. And for that matter, I'm sorry I did not respond to your couple of phone calls. Honestly, I generally am pretty straight forward when it comes to closing out a relationship. I have no specific reason why I was not straight forward with you...please don't take it personally, but it was rude of me and I'm sorry.

It's funny that you emailed tonight, actually. Just in the last few weeks, I've stumbled upon a few exes who are now married and although I'm happy for them and glad I'm not married to them for one reason or another, it's got me wondering, where have I gone wrong to not be in the same scenario? When I read your email, the first thing I thought was, we just weren't meant for each other. It's not that you DID anything specifically that turned me off or offended me in any way. I found you attractive, funny, and ambitious. I liked that you seem close to your family. I just didn't see us together in the long run. Some women like dating and enjoy the comfort of being linked to someone. While I enjoy being in a relationship, I want to be in one with someone who I can see a future with.

So, unfortunately, I can't give you the magic answer. I wish I could because then, I might be in a more fulfilling relationship myself. A girlfriend of mine just told me recently, "There's nothing wrong with you. It's nothing you're doing or not doing...you just haven't found the right one yet."

I don't think you messed up...I just don't think you've found the right one yet either.

I wish you much luck in finding the right one...think of it this way, she's wondering where the hell you are too! :)

Erin


And I'll close this post with something I read on the mirror of the bathroom at a restaurant called Cafe Gratitude in San Francisco over the summer...

I am worthy of everything wonderful!

Monday, April 27, 2009

First Bike Ride and Interview

First, can I get an Amen for posting another blog less than a month from the last time? I will attribute part of that to the fact that I borrowed a laptop from school which is just easier to use at home since I can take it away from our little guest room/ office downstairs...only to find out that they're buying me my own NEW laptop which should be here this week! Sweet, huh?! Maybe I can keep up this blog thing better??!! I said maybe.

So, yesterday was a great day! Cara, Kara, and I decided to go on a bike ride. It wasn't perfectly sunny out, but nice enough. We decided on a pretty easy ride that Kara found by calling one of the local bike shops; however, we must have missed a turn because we ended up at a trail that the girls have been on called Lair O' the Bear, which is a bit more technical and has some climbing streaks, which of course, I wasn't really ready for...especially on my first run! We had a great time, although I felt extremely out of shape! I need to spend some time on some flat trails just to get used to my bike and get my legs back in gear before I go back out to a rough mountain trail again. I bit it pretty hard coming over the top of one of the hills...there were two pretty thick roots in the middle of the track and I couldn't decide if I should go over them or around since I was going fairly steep downhill. I decided last second to go around to the right and fell into the brush on the side of the trail. I didn't flip over my bike, but didn't land too gracefully either! Not too hurt, just a few scratches, I got up and continued on. The uphills were pretty steep and had a lot of switchbacks (sharp turns going in the other direction like zig-zagging up the mountain) that I had to walk my bike through, although so did Kara and Cara. I'm pretty sure the switchbacks take a bit of experience to be able to handle on the bike.

Riding downhill felt exhilerating! I learned last night that I need to keep pedaling as it continues to balance the bike, even when I'm going downhill. When we got to the bottom, the girls and I were just jackin' around in the parking lot and we decided it would be great fun to try and jump our bikes up onto this foot and a half ledge. What the hell was I thinking?! Cara (Dallas) is super athletic! So she makes it up in a second and I'm thinking, "hey, I can do that!" So I pull my bike half way across the lot, race towards the center median, pull my bike up too late, and flip myself and the bike onto the grass! I wasn't hurt, but it was much like running myself into a wall! It was pretty funny! Then Kara (my roomie) decided she should try and did about the same thing that I did, but somehow she racked the hell out of herself in the process and was on the ground holding herself like a guy! I felt so bad because I knew she was actually in pain, but it was the FUNNIEST looking thing I have seen in quite a while! She and her bike just sat there in mid air for about ten seconds while we all knew it wasn't going to end well. We laughed our happy assess off for a long time about that one. I have a strawberry bruise on each leg from our adventure/ stupidity.

Last night I met with the first family who I've been speaking with about a possible summer nanny position. They were a nice family. The kids seem a bit inactive, which doesn't interest me as much, but they seemed like a good family and I'm sure we'd all get along. I sent the mother my references today and she replied saying that I was their top candidate right now but that they had a couple more interviews this week. I have another one on Wednesday as well that I am looking forward to. This family seems much more active with three girls (13, 11, and 8) who are all involved in various camps through out the summer. Keep your fingers crossed that this family and I actaully connect as well as I'm feeling we might! It's a four day a week job and I like the idea of having most of the week dedicated to earning some extra money. I'm also talking with several people about possible dog and house sitting gigs, some for this month and some for this summer, which I hope work out. I think that is such an easy way to make money and enjoy being with animals. Keep you posted on that...

After the interview with the first family (not of the United States, just the first of a couple families I'm talking to), I went to Darcy's house for dinner with she and her boyfriend Alex. They invited me over earlier in the day and cooked up a yummy good meal! We had such a nice time eating and enjoying each other's company. That is my kind of Sunday...

For now, I'm looking for another trail to ride on Wednesday after school...it's supposed to be 70! Wish me luck!

Thursday, April 23, 2009

I'm a once a month blogger...

Sue me!

Anyway, I have no news to report about any of the EHarmony boys...I'm pretty much off that band wagon. My service expires in a week and I'm not renewing...it takes so much time! Not that there weren't some perks, but sitting in front of my computer (especially now that it's beautiful outside) is not my idea of fun! So, no, nothing else happened with any of the guys I met. They were all great people, but none of them really captured my attention. In laymen's terms...I was bored.

Instead, I bought a bike! I love it! My roommate, Kara, and friend, Cara, have been biking lately and I've been thinkig about getting one, so I finally did. It's a great little mountain bike that actually fits me! Shocker, I know...the guy at the bike shop said most women's bikes are made to fit women who are about 5'0". I was overjoyed...no one EVER says that! I took it for a little spin in the parking lot, Cara was impressed that I didn't even stop as I went down the curb, and the bike (which has a few fairly inconspicuous little butterflies) and I fell in love! I decided to wait a couple days so I could do some price comparisons and a little more research, but when I went back, she was still on hold for me. There was this cute bike technician who we visited with briefly when we first went who remembered me when I came in again and he helped me out. He was really easy to talk to and after visiting while he was doing some finishing touches on my bike, he gave me his number and said to give him a call if we go riding soon! I think I actually will! In fact, he's fairly new to Denver as well and I thought I would ask him if he wanted to join our kickball league this summer...yes, it's true...fun people playing kickball in the park this summer. I'm excited! My friend, Darcy, and I went riding on Tuesday after school, but just around the neighborhood park, Wash Park. We had a blast! If you haven't been on a bike since you were about 8, I highly recommend it! Makes you feel like you're carelessly 8 again. My ass hurts, but I can get that taken care of soon...going to get bike shorts tomorrow! Kara and Cara and I are going up to Red Rocks on Sunday...should be great...wonderful weather and Red Rocks is a beautiful area. I want to ask the guy from the bike shop to join us, but not on my first run. I'll call him soon though...he has an infectious laugh, although he didn't laugh AT me when I couldn't take my tire off to get it in the car. He came running out to help the damsel in distress. :)

So, siblings, if you're thinking of birthday gift ideas, I'm all about bike accessories! Fingerless gloves, a small camel backpack, helmet (I'm borrowing one of Kara's right now), water bottle holder, insulated water bottle, etc. Although if any of you buy me a bell, I'll kill you!

The end of school is nearing. I've never felt more productive in my work than I have this year. It's been an incredible year! I love the students in my class and the professionalism that I've experienced thus far. Darcy and I will be working on a book this summer! I'm looking forward to the summer months here. Although I usually take several trips in the summer, I'm only taking one in July...I'm planning to get to Dallas on July 11th for Steph's baby shower, spending time at home, seeing friends I miss dearly, and then heading to Austin with my play group growing up. I'll be in Texas for about ten days. Other than that, I'm looking forward to people coming to visit ME! I'm so excited to be in my new home, exploring, working a bit, relaxing, biking, practicing yoga, hiking, finding a fabulous hot spring! If anyone wants to join, feel free! We have plenty of room at the house.

I'm in the midst of talking with a few families in hopes to nanny this summer. Please keep your fingers crossed for me. One, in particular, sounds quite promising and a great fit...I'll keep you posted...probably next month. :)

I miss my family (all over the country) and I miss, miss, miss my dear friends...

But I still love it here.

Much love...

Friday, March 20, 2009

The Immaculate Household

It is the Friday before Spring Break...clearly I'm not teaching, clearly there's not a lot of productive learning happening.  My kids have just about all had melt downs today.  We need a break.  Thank God I'll be in San Fran by tomorrow afternoon!

I tried to blog a few days ago and was blocked!  You can imagine my dismay!  Somehow, though, I was able to get on today.  The district techies are probably already on their Spring Break.

Quick dating update...

I went for dinner and drinks on monday night with Aaron (with an A), the rock climber who lives in Boulder.  We went to this sweet little restaurant in LoDo called Lola's and then around the corner to Forest Room Five for a drink afterwards.  I like him.  He's interesting, he's funny, and the boy's a good kisser.  Our conversation was great...no lulls (there were a couple last time).  He seems genuine and passionate.  I'm sure I'll see him again when I get back in town.

I spent last night with Dana.  Dana is a very interesting person.  I wish I had a video clip to share because I can't think of how to describe him.  He's still a bit formal, which I think is just his style.  We went for a quick bite to eat at this little pub in downtown Denver and then back to his place for drinks.  I learned that he's divorced.  I'm totally fine with this, but the fact that he still seems to be stuck in his glory days of high school and college is becoming clearer to me.  I think he is trying to redefine himself and the last time he really knew himself, he was between the ages of 17-24.  So, it's as if he's gone back to that point to pick up the pieces.  He talks a lot about his accomplishments during that time.  I call this blog the immaculate household because that is exactly what his flat was like...ridiculously immaculate.  I know I'm anal about where things go, but I realized that I'm truly not that bad comparatively!  Towards the end of the night, we made out for a while on his couch.  In between kissing, he was very complimentary of our time together and said he was already looking forward to my returning to Denver.  I like Dana, but I'm pretty sure he's not my guy.  He's too perfect-seeming.  I know he's not actually perfect, but he wants to give off that vibe and it's kind of annoying.  I feel like I should be careful with him though...in the sense that i don't want to drag this on if I'm not truly interested in pursuing this with him.  He said last night that I was the first special person he's met in a long time...I don't want to drag it out if it's not what I want.

I'm also talking to another guy who's 6'6".  I don't have a name picked out for him yet, but this height thing is getting a little ridiculous, don'tcha think?!

Much go grab lunch!

Much love!

Monday, March 9, 2009

Dating Update

This past week was a busy one in terms of meeting new people.  Last Wednesday, I went out with the 6'4" Red Head for date number 2.  We met at another swanky little wine bar (this time in Boulder) and then went to a Tibetan restaurant called Sherpa's for appetizers.  He's probably been my favorite of the online boys so far.  I don't necessarily feel a romantic connection with him, but we definitely connect.  He's very funny (and not in an obnoxious way) and I enjoy his intellect as well.  I've noticed that characteristic increasingly climbing up the "I'm gonna need you to have ______" list.

On Saturday, before I went to Ft. Collins to hear my lover play (and by lover, I mean Michael Franti, who, by the way, invited all 800 of us to join him at his house in San Francisco for a sing-a-long session around his fish pond in his backyard ~ I'm going to need my bro Andy to get on that ASAP since he's tight with him now that Andy's working his lights...going to be in SF in 2 weeks ~ coincidence?  I think not!), I met up with Aaron (With an A, of course) for coffee.  Earlier that day, I stumbled into this fabulous little boutique where I bought a perfectly fitting pair of skinny jeans (whole other story...did you know that designers make this size called "petites" and that it works really well for my 5'0" frame, even with the booty?!  Why did I just discover this at age 28?!).  My point is that I wore them to coffee and looked cute!  ANYWAY, Aaron is a rock climber...moved to CO for it actually.  He was a bit nervous (it seemed) at first, but we got into a groove and I enjoyed his company as well.  We talked about the idea of going climbing together, which I would definitely love to try.  I sort of feel like going on a couple different dates in various settings helps me get a better picture of the person.  This won't be a shocker to most of you, but I have a pretty dominant personality and I think it would be interesting to see how Aaron (With an A) is like in a setting that is completely comfortable to him and totally foreign to me.  So, I'm sure there will be a date #2.

Finally, I went out with FastTrack last night for drinks and dinner.  FastTrack is handsome, sure of himself, and ambitious.  He has a lot to say, although I can't knock him because I know I do too.  Although I did enjoy our time, I hope he relaxes a little bit more next time.  There were moments when he showed his sense of humor, but it was as if he didn't want to really show me that part of himself, although I know it's there because that's why I was interested in him in the first place through his profile and emails.  It's sort of hard to explain, but it was almost a little too business-like??  The conversation was good...he's from Maine, has an interesting background, seems smart (got his MBA at Notre Dame and is now in law school because he likes to argue, although he assured me (because I asked) that he doesn't always think he's right), is liberal-minded, is well-traveled, and works for an Olympic anti-doping company (forgot to ask him what he thinks of the legalization of pot).  After a drink at one place and sushi at another, he wanted to grab coffee elsewhere, but I declined because (hello?!) it's a school night.  He lives near the restaurant, so I drove him back to his place and in a business-like manner, he said he wanted to do this again ~ he's leaving for Costa Rica on Thursday and suggested that we get together before, although I didn't commit to anything, but he might get lucky!  I think it would be fun to cook at his place ~ I got the feeling he doesn't do that too much.  He seemed into the idea although I don't know that that would happen for date #2.  We'll see!

I was never able figure out how to juggle balls, but apparently, I'm getting better at it!  :)

And one more thing...I was surprised to see someone named Mark read my last blog and write a very nice comment...thanks, Mark!  I appreciate the Events and Adventures suggestion...I definitely would love to check it out, although I'm actually living in Denver now, not Dallas.  Haven't had a chance to see if they're here yet...

Hope everyone is doing well and survived the first day of springing forward!

Monday, March 2, 2009

The Bachelor is Bullshit and I am Dating...Many Men!

I don't want to talk about the fact that SOME of you officially hate the book Wemberly Worried. It's still a classic...and don't you be surprised if I buy it for one of your babies. :)

I just got finished watching the season finale of the Bachelor. I can't believe they put that poor girl through hell and back and hell again. God love her. She lives in Dallas...someone get her Dr.Don's number for some much needed therapy.

But on to more pressing issues! So I joined eHarmony about a month ago. Two of my girlfriends here and I decided that we needed to challenge ourselves at least once a month to step outside of the comfort zone in search of available, single, emotionally and mentally capable men. It can be a daunting task, especially for those of us who would just like for Prince Charming to knock on the door and announce that he's Mr. Perfect. So, my challenge for February was to join a dating site. And it has proven to be pretty fun! I have already been out on two dates, I'm going on a 2nd date this week with one of the guys I met last week, and I'm SO excited because two of the guys that I have been talking with that I'm interested in both asked me out too! But now, of course, I'm feeling a little overwhelmed! How the hell do guys just flit around and date copious amounts of women?! It's exhausting! But I feel like I'm on my own, more private version, of the Bachelorette!

Quick run down...of course, I'll give them nicknames...it's much more fun and easier to remember who's who...

First Date: The 6'4 Red Head
I know what you're thinking already...6'4? Red hair? He and I went out last week for drinks at this swanky little wine bar. Good, easy conversation...he's totally laid back and there was hardly a lull in the flow of our talking. I was impressed with the fact that he just straight up said when and where we were going. I'm all about a guy who can just make a plan (imagine that?). If for nothing else, I was grateful to have a boost of confidence that I can actually do this. This meaning make a plan with someone of the opposite sex, drive to the bar looking 1/2 way decent, walk in by myself when I don't see him there, order a drink (swig it down real fast), order another one (and leave it lying casually on the table), and graciously introduce myself when he walks in. It was a good start.
Status: Rose (I am seeing him again on Wednesday)

Second Date: Zach Braff
I went out last night with "Zach." He looks like Zach Braff, but more than that I'm calling him that because at one point, when we were talking about Garden State and how we liked the movie and soundtrack he said, "I'm pretty much Zach Braff...weird, creative, big headed." I don't even remember what he said past that. I was irritated that he compared himself (and he was COMPLETELY serious) to Zach Braff and was fine with having the asshole side that Zach Braff apparently has. This guy is 27, which I know is only a year younger than me, but he felt younger than that. I was over him 1/2 way through dinner. I was looking for the "Close Match" button that I've used so frequently on eHarmony and couldn't find it. I even tried this thing that Ben does when he's not interested in a conversation that we're having where he just yells in the middle of our talking,"BORING!" (although I tried it it my mind so as not to seem rude), but it didn't work. Finally, I said I had to get home because I had an early morning. I emailed him the friend email and this was his reply...

Hey Erin,
You're more than welcome for dinner last night. Thank you for a great time (and for the coffee)!
I appreciate your honesty and being up front with me so quickly. To continue this open and straightforward communication, I really enjoyed hanging with you last night and thought (and still think) that you and I had (have) some real potential considering how much we have in common and how we interacted. With that said, being friends would be pretty cool too. I still want to do a movie on Friday, as I think it would be a good time. Would you still be interested? I'll let you decide what we see (since you've seen more of what's out than I have). What do you say?Anyway, hope the rest of your week goes well. Feel free to drop me a text, e-mail, or phone call anytime and let me know about Friday. Take Care! (Zach Braff)

I added that last part since clearly that isn't his name, but did ANYONE catch the deal breaker?! That's right...he use the token words I hate...take care.
Status: No Rose

Interest 3: Aaron With an A
He's only an interest because we haven't gone out yet, although we're supposed to get together this week. Aaron With an A is from Boulder. He actually moved here fairly recently as well. He's super cute and seems like he could be very intellectually stimulating. He's into yoga, rock climbing, and hiking. I'm a little nervous because I'm afraid that he'll end up being like Bruno, which is actually a HUGE generalization, but what can I say? He's a Boulder Boy.

Interest 4: FastTrack
He's handsome, he's funny, and he's light-hearted about the whole online dating thing. I call him FastTrack because on eHarmony, you are given the option to either go through Guided Communication, in which you post questions to each other before the "open communication" phase or you can just do FastTrack, at which point, you are just emailing back and forth with the person without any assistance from Dr. Warren. Since his profile stated that he preferred FastTrack, I decided to email him. Here is part of his reply:

I'm glad you liked my profile! You'd be surprised how many people take this very seriously and find my profile offensive! I sort of think the whole online dating process this site employs is fairly strange, so I did my best to make light of it. That's why I prefer FastTrack. I prefer to get to know someone by talking to them, not through pre-set questions and MHCSs that don't really tell you anything about someone. Through guided communication, you learn profound things such as your matches can't stand racists and need to receive affection in relationships. It's sort of akin to someone telling you that the world is round and that dinosaurs are extinct.I really enjoyed your profile too!

In my book, you get HUGE points for not listing Eat, Pray, Love as the last book you enjoyed. I'm sure it's a great book, mostly because every girl on this site names that book in their profile, but the fact that you didn't makes you different and I like that.

As with Aaron With an A, FastTrack just asked me out tonight, so I'll email him back tomorrow with a YES, PLEASE! I think he has great potential!

That's all for now...I'll (try to!) keep you posted!

Much love...