I have been so exhausted when I get home from work. I am in a fog most of the day...it's like when you wake up and it takes you a little while to get into the day...you need your coffee, shower, etc. to begin functioning...except in my case, I never actually get into it. I just stay in the fog.
One good thing that comes from the aftermath of mono is that I've been sleeping REALLY well at night, which I know is a small and pointless thing to be grateful for, but I can't stand it when I can't fall asleep and I really LOVE being able to fall into a deep sleep.
Anyway, I was on the couch on Monday night watching Dance War...I was hoping I'd love the dancing aspect of this show, but frankly, the talent is pathetic, the judges love everyone in the competition, and they are performing like cheesy riverboat entertainers. I decided that it was time to turn off the TV when four boys wearing jeans, tight white t-shirts and little black vests started singing to "End of the Road" by Boys to Men. Seriously? I had to check the calendar to make sure I hadn't slipped into a coma. Yep. It's 2008. I thought we had slipped back into the late 80's/ early 90's. It was then that I had an image of dancing with Mark Massey at my 7th grade Christmas dance circa 1993. I was wearing a black dress that was suede on the bodice and poofed out from the waist down. It went down to about my knee and I was wearing hose and heels for probably the first time ever. My hair was equally as poofy as the bottom part of my dress and I'm sure I was wearing rhinestones on some part of my body. It wasn't pretty. At the time, I didn't appreciate my scrawny ass little figure. Wish I could still eat anything I wanted and have pretzel sticks for thighs. We did the usual 7th grade dance move...my arms were straight around his neck, his were straight around my waist and we swayed from side to side for 3 1/2 minutes while the DJ let the song roll.
The grown men on the screen stopped singing (and don't kid yourself if one of them didn't cheesily kneel down at Carrie Ann's feet and actually kissed her hand...eewww...I'd slap any man's face who ever dared do that) and I knew it was time for bed.
I appreciate dance...I love watching it and I love doing it, but for the love of Nancy, this is the worst display of singing and dancing I have ever seen.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
LOL..I love it. The song that takes me back is "So Far Away from Me" by Dire Straights. If you don't know the song, you are too young and I don't want to hear from you until you have downloaded it and learned it.
Love ya!
you pretty much summed up exactly how i feel about that ridiculous show. i thought it sounded like a cool idea and once i saw it it was like an off broadway disaster. can't wait to hear or read about your weekend. keep up your blog- i love it!
Post a Comment