Monday, January 28, 2008

My Nephew, Miss America, and the Boy Downstairs

I know the subject line is random, but stay with me. You should know by now that I am a random girl. I know most writing gurus would advise me to choose one topic, but since this is my blog, I guess I can do whatever I want. These topics have nothing to do with each other...just a beautiful celebration of life, a funny time with the girls, and yet another ridiculous run in with a cute boy, who apparently, I cannot hold a civil conversation with. They are in no way of equal value. I just haven't written in a while and a few fun/ funny things have happened since. Sorry to the five of you who read this. :)



Please check out this little guy...




This is my brand-spankin' new nephew. I already love him so much and he's only about 4 weeks old. I spent a long weekend, weekend before last, staring and marveling at him. He is so cute and cuddly, but is a strong boy! I am so proud and excited to be an Aunt! His momma and daddy are incredible people in the first place, but are also amazing to watch as they unfold into these beautiful parents. So incredible...

Change of topic...the girls and I watch part of Miss America on Saturday night. It was insane...and you wonder why girls in our society have body image issues. Competitions such as this promote outer beauty, but fail to build and compliment women's mental capacities. They spend about 2 1/2 seconds on discussion of politics and/or social issues and the rest of the show is "who is the prettiest one." And this year, they did this new things where each contestant took way too long to introduce herself with something cutsie like the following...

"From the state where everything is bigger and better and the home of President George Bush, I'm XYZ, from Houston, Texas."

And each of them would drag out their state name until they could no longer breathe. And of course, many of them started walking in one direction, realized their mistake, graced the audience with a fake "I meant to do that" smile, and switched directions to walk the other way.

Here's my impression...sorry it's sideways, I don't know how to turn it right...

Finally, I have (yet another) great moment of single hood. The Sunday before I went back to work after having mono for too long, I realized that a new neighbor moved in downstairs. I was trying to bask in the glory of one more day of freedom and all I could hear was banging on the walls from below...not the sex kind of banging like the earlier post, but just irritating, hanging stuff on the walls, kind of banging. I was near walking down there to tell her/ him to knock it off, but didn't have the energy at the time. Glad I didn't too...HE'S a cutie...with a dog! So of course, I don't have the courage to actually talk to him (hints the reason why I'm still single), but I had words with him today! So, I'm walking towards the gate to my building where you have to punch in a code on this keypad before the door will unlock and let you in and when I reached out to punch in the code, I was startled by this enormous dog sitting on the other side of the gate!

Cute boy/ dog owner: "Oh I'm so sorry!"

And of course, I tired to play it cool (since I damn near dropped everything I was carrying) and I smoothly let him know that I'm totally into dogs...

Me: "Oh that's okay, I'm not scared of dogs, I just wasn't expecting him to be sitting right there."

Like he asked if dogs bothered me or not...what a loser! He was probably thinking, "I don't really give a crap, I just want to get on with my run." So then, I had to continue (of course)...

Me: "Is he friendly?"

Cute boy/ dog owner: "Oh, yea...very...he's a 130 pound lap dog."

Me: nervous laugh (what do I say next?! what comes next?! someone get me the f*ing script!)

Me: "What's his name?"

Cute boy/ dog owner: "Bailey."

And then, I've got nothin'...it was like an angle and a demon battling it out in my head:

Angel: Ask him if he's the one that just moved in below you!

Demon: No, dip shit! He'll think you're stalking him!

Angel: Just ask! He seems like a nice guy!

Demon: Please! You'll look like a fool! He wants to go on a run!

Angel: Ask him if he wants to come up for a boiled dinner! Boys would completely dig that meal!

Demon: DON'T DO IT!! SAY GOOD-BYE!!

And the demon won (for now!). So I just said good-bye and that was it. When I called Amanda and relayed the ridiculous story, she asked, "well, did you get his name?" Of course not...that would have been too easy to ask.

So for now, he will be known as Bailey's owner.

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Where the curtains make my apartment look like a circus tent or a brothel....I'm Marisa, Miss Richmond Avenue! Oh, what's that? Yes it is cold outside, the wind makes it cold. What am I saying!?!?! Arrrrgggg!

Dodi said...

Oh how exciting. I got hit on by a street maintenance worker this morning and I got very excited b/c he was cute, very blue collar and I was wearing makeup. Oh and my kids were screaming at me in the car, but it didn't seem to bother him none. :)